Theater night on a Thursday

We’re going to the theatre tonight; previews for a very modern adaptation of WesSide Story from a director we’ve seen before (Network last year). That might be one of the most privileged New Yorky sentences I’ve written in awhile and it’s true. A friend (the artist) pointed out to me yesterday that we are “now in the class of people who buy pieces from a gallery for their home.” All true and surreal for me and accepted.

I started with a lot of good blue collar circumstances and tripped upward into more and more privilege. I hope I use it and the income that comes with it to do more. I’ve never had a problem along the way with getting taxed. If anything I want to contribute more when I think about my public education, my state paid full tuition scholarship for my bachelor’s degree, the subsidies from my roads and the train and everything else. I’m still startled by people that seem to think our cities and construction are a given. Maybe it sinks in all the times I cross the river looking at the Brooklyn Bridge that my great grandfather helped build. It’s more likely that I’m still a bit silly and it’s a harmless pitfall of hopefulness. It’s reassuring to me that I’m not as scared and fatalistic as I sometimes worry.

I have a little bit of what I’m hoping is just weariness, not a cold. I caught something underdressed, volunteering for the Warren presidential campaign rally at Kings Theater in Brooklyn on Tuesday. I’m lucky that my friend Jessen was in line and threw her scarf onto me and lent her gloves. It buoyed my spirits a few hours in. I was probably outside 4 hours that night and there a total of 9-10 training and volunteering. I know handing letters and shaking hands with my future President and Vice President are worth it.

This is scattered. Jason’s picking me up here at the coffee shop I parked in after an appointment or putting our names down at the ramen spot we’ll get dinner from. Maybe broth will warm me up and help. He hasn’t had good sleeps this week, and I’ve been up too late. These are silly and light problems. I don’t mind. Sleepy and sipping a Darjeeling tea until I find out what’s next.

I hope you get some rest and quiet tonight, whether it’s this same Thursday or another day down the line.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Why Now?

It’s a little hard to say. Why ever? I’ll be the first to admit it’s strange being a young, married woman online. For a long time I said that I didn’t need a blog because I didn’t have anything original to add to discourse. If I say... Continue →