Writing on someone else’s iPad

I decided to try blogging on an iPad that has an attached magnetic keyboard. Other than rocking on my thigh because I’m in a comically oversized armchair, it seems like a pretty good set up and that my guesses for it were correct.

I’m trying out Ground Control on 8th Avenue in Manhattan, which I’ve never been to before. It’s loud so I need focus but the furniture in the back is just as cozy as I’d hoped.

This iPad is Jason’s (my spouse) and I charged it up for a whole day because the battery was so fatigued and out of use. I have not updated it to show my Messages. I am not logged into my email. There are no social media apps on it, although I did pop open my Twitter profile to snag the above embed code. I closed most of the ancient, unloading tabs (sorry babe) to remove top margin distractions.

The keyboard is clutch because I loathe typing on touch screens and my nails tend to be too long for them (mostly out of laziness, somewhat for aesthetics). The response from the click of the keys is nice and soft and present under my fingers and making me want to use it all the time. It is lighter than my work MacBook Pro by an undefinable amount (I refuse to break this stream of consciousness to do the math). It feels like something I could really carry around with me. I think this is a larger than average size too so the screen and legibility are so satisfying. I loathe my addictive, squint inducing phone with all the crap I don’t delete or reinstall after a handful of days even when I do.

Everything above is to say I don’t have strong discipline when it comes to writing yet. I’m one of those people who is getting hung up on set up and circumstance. I have faith I’ll move past it. I’m even starting a fiction class next week to rally my lazy anxious ass into accountability. This is nice.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

A Monday morning in Brooklyn

I went to bed early enough after reading that I was actually well rested when I woke. One of the cats was batting at my feet under the covers, gripping the sides of my toes, gentle enough that no claws dug in. I jumped into my jeans and... Continue →